Challenges and Journeys

Music Mondays: Where I Belong

I’ll be starting the Music Mondays Challenge today! I found this challenge on Oh, Hello! and would love to share it with all of you, and to read your Music Mondays too. You’re welcome to share your favorite song of the weekend/week/day in the comments below!

I had the awesome opportunity to attend one of Women of Faith‘s last conferences this weekend! It was an inspiring weekend with lots of amazingly talented speakers who have a passion for what they share. It was truly a blessing!

During the conference, the band Building 429 privileged us with a little concert. One of the songs they shared with us was “Where I Belong,” a song that touched me for its background story and the words.

 

Here’s the short background story:

At one of the lead singer’s small group gatherings in his home, a woman came asking for prayers. She’d noticed something wrong with her health and finally decided to check in with her doctor.

When she came back the following week, she came with a result of stage 4 breast cancer. And in midst of her chaos, she said: “Take this world and give me Jesus. This is not where I belong.”

And that’s where the words for their song came from. It’s so touching. And it reminds us, in the middle of the crazy world of today, that this is not our home and that there’s still hope for a better – much better – future.

In the middle of all of my anger and disappointment of the craziness in the world, these words are assuring.

I’m usually not into this Christian music because I was raised with a totally different musical atmosphere. But one thing is true: these “artists” are not in it to be artists; they mean what they sing and live it to share it. The words of this song are so so so touching!

Here are the words in case you want to just read through:

Sometimes it feels like I’m watching from the outside
Sometimes it feels like I’m breathing but am I alive
I won’t keep searching for answers that aren’t here to find

All I know is I’m not home yet
This is not where I belong
Take this world and give me Jesus
This is not where I belong

So when the walls come falling down on me
And when I’m lost in the current of a raging sea
I have this blessed assurance holding me.

When the earth shakes I wanna be found in You
When the lights fade I wanna be found in You

And here’s Jason, the lead singer, expounding on the meaning of this song:

I hope you do enjoy this. And I hope you see the light through all of the darkness today.

Happy Monday! And don’t forget to share with me your song on replay this week 🙂

4 thoughts on “Music Mondays: Where I Belong

Leave a Reply

