Challenges and Journeys

Thanksgiving November: Opportunities

Thanksgiving November” is a series of posts I’ll write in November, telling you what I’m grateful for! This is my third post.

One of the greatest things about surprises is that they excite you!

I recently had the opportunity to apply for a “teaching” position where I am basically giving instructors extra support and giving students extra learning time.

The way it came around was very unexpected, though it lasted about one second. I was asking my instructor something about tutoring services and he replied with another question, “Do you want to be an Supplemental Instructor (SI)? You’d be a great SI. I don’t have one next semester.

And just like that, I was recommended by my professor (and a previous professor who also jumped on board) to be a wannabe teacher for students at my college!

I know, I know, it’s exciting to be a wannabe!

This made me very content for two reasons:

  1. I was looking for a job that would allow me quite a bit of study time. What’s better than paid study time?? I get to review material from two courses that matter lots for my field of study, and I get paid for it. No biggy.
  2. I was recently considering a future position as a college professor. So you can imagine how happy I am to get an awesome opportunity to work closely with people whose shoes I hope to fill one day! What greater training is there than hands-on?

I am very excited for my new “journey”!
Amidst college-life crisis, I look for these beautiful opportunities to make sense of the nonsense.

So thank God and the good people of the Earth for wonderful opportunities.

What are you grateful for?

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving November: Opportunities

Leave a Reply

